

MEDIA RELEASE

2 May 2001

THE SONGS THAT RESONATE THROUGH THE YEARS: INDUSTRY VOTES FOR TOP 30 AUSTRALIAN SONGS

In celebration of its 75th Anniversary, APRA invited 100 distinguished Australian writers, musicians, critics and broadcasters to nominate the ten Australian songs they regard as the best and most significant works of the past 75 years.

From the lists that were submitted, APRA compiled a list of the Top 30 Australian songs.

At the 2001 APRA Music Awards on Monday 28 May 2001 a special retrospective showcase will feature the 10 songs that headed that list.

The 20 songs that comprised the rest of the list are as follows:

Song	Writer/s and Publisher	Performer/s
Along the Road to Gundagai	Writer: Jack O'Hagan Publisher: Allans Music Australia	Jack O'Hagan & various
And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda	Writer: Eric Bogle Publisher: Larrikin Music Publishing	Eric Bogle Bushwackers
I'll Be Gone	Writer: Michael Rudd Publisher: Cellar Music Co	Spectrum
The Real Thing	Writer: Johnny Young Publisher: Chappell & Co Australia	Russell Morris
Cattle and Cane	Writers: Grant McLennan, Robert Forster Publishers: Festival Music, Complete Music Ltd (PRS)	Go Betweens
Even When I'm Sleeping	Writer: Dean Manning Publisher: Mushroom Music	Leonardo's Bride
I'm Stranded	Writers: Chris Bailey, Ed Kuepper Publisher: Mushroom Music	The Saints
Power and the Passion	Writers: Robert Hirst, James Moginie, Peter Garrett Publisher: Sony Music Publishing Australia	Midnight Oil
Throw Your Arms Around Me	Writers: John Archer, Geoffrey Crosby, Douglas Falconer, Robert Miles, Mark Seymour, Michael Waters, John Howard Publisher: Mushroom Music	Hunters & Collectors

Song	Writer/s and Publisher	Performer/s
Wide Open Road	Writer: David McComb Publisher: Mushroom Music	Triffids
Cool Change	Writer: Glenn Shorrock Publisher: Warner Chappell Music	Little River Band
Only Nineteen	Writer: Schumann Publisher: Universal/MCA Music Publishing	Redgum
My Island Home	Writer: Neil Murray Publisher: Rondor Music Australia	Warumpi Band Christine Anu Neil Murray
Reckless	Writer: James Reyne Publisher: Warner Chappell Music	Australian Crawl
Ship Song	Writer: Nick Cave Publishers: Mute Song (PRS), Mushroom Music	Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
To Her Door	Writer: Paul Kelly Publisher: Mushroom Music	Paul Kelly
Truly Madly Deeply	Writers: Darren Hayes, Daniel Jones Publisher: EMI Music Publishing Australia/ Rough Cut Music	Savage Garden
Day You Come	Writers: Jonathan Coghill, John Collins, Ian Haug, Darren Middleton, Bernard Fanning Publisher: Universal Music Publishing	Powderfinger
Science Fiction	Writers: Chrissy Amphlett, Mark McEntee, Jeremy Paul Publisher: EMI Music Publishing Australia	Divinyls
Treaty	Writers: Paul Kelly, Mandawuy Yunupingu, Stuart Kellaway, Cal Williams, Gurrumul Yunupingu, Milkayngu Mununggurr, Witiyana Marika Publisher: Mushroom Music	Yothu Yindi

For further information please contact: Debbie Kruger Manager Communications and Public Affairs, APRA Phone: 02 9935 7761 Email: krug@apra.com.au